FIFA™ | United States of America, Canada & Mexico

2026 World Cup | Format

World Cup 2026 Format
Pro Shots / Zuma Press

These are the most important things you should know about the FIFA World Cup format in North America in 2026, with host countries the United States, Canada and Mexico. In a nutshell:

  • The tournament to be held in the USA, Canada and Mexico will be the 23rd men’s football FIFA World Cup
  • For the first time ever, the football World Cup will be held in three host countries
  • There are a total of sixteen host cities with 23 Candidate Host Cities currently (update June 16, 2022)
  • A record number of 48 countries will participate in the finals
  • The World Cup will be held in the summer of 2026, with exact match dates to follow
  • The qualification period in the six FIFA Zones will run from 2023 to 2025
  • The 2026 World Cup in North America be held in three time zones
  • A total of 104 matches are scheduled
  • The group stage starts with twelve groups of four countries
  • This will be followed by the knock-outs, starting from the round of 32
  • The World Cup final in 2026 will be held in the MetLife Stadium in New York/New Jersey (subject to change) on Sunday, July 19, 2026

Main Info



Host Cities USA

The 2026 American Dream: the United States is one of the three hosts of the FIFA World Cup Soccer in North America. The USA is the host country with the most - eleven - host cities.

Host Cities Canada

With Vancouver, and Toronto, Canada has two host cities for the world's football finals in North America in 2026. Get more information about the characteristics of these exciting and diverse, dynamic cities.

Host Cities Mexico

With Guadalajara, Mexico City and Monterrey, Mexico has three candidate host cities for the World Cup in 2026. Each host with its specific ambience, history, attractions, hotspots and other features.

Stadiums USA

The United States will have eleven stadiums for the FIFA 2026 World Cup. Click for more information about these fantastic and modern venues in the USA, and which matches they will host.

Stadiums Canada

During the 2026 World Cup finals, these are the two venues in Canada: BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, and BMO Field in Toronto. Find out more about these attractive Canadian stadiums.

Stadiums Mexico

In Mexico, the FIFA 2026 World Cup will take place in these stadiums: Estadio Akron in Guadalajara, the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City and the BBVA Bancomer Stadium in Monterrey.