2026 World Cup FAQ

World Cup 2026 FAQ
Pro Shots / Action Images

Questions and answers concerning different aspects of the 2026 World Cup Football in North-America. This is the 2026 World Cup FAQ.

Where will the 2026 World Cup be held?

The 2026 FIFA World Cup™ will be held in North America: in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. There will be 16 host cities and stadiums in total: 10 World Cup cities in the United States, 3 cities in Canada as well as 3 cities in Mexico. There are currently 23 candidate host cities, of which seventeen are located in the United States; both Canada and Mexico have 3 candidate cities for the World Cup 2026. Seven potential North American World Cup hosts will drop out in the course of 2020 / 2021. These are the match locations on the current candidate list:

USA: Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium), Baltimore (M&T Bank Stadium), Boston (Gillette Stadium), Cincinnati (Paul Brown Stadium), Dallas (AT&T Stadium), Denver (Mile High Stadium), Houston (NRG Stadium), Kansas City (Arrowhead Stadium), Los Angeles (Rose Bowl), Miami (Hard Rock Stadium), Nashville (Nissan Stadium), New York/New Jersey (MetLife Stadium), Orlando (Camping World Stadium), Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field), San Francisco Bay Area (Levi’s Stadium), Seattle (CenturyLink Field), Washington (FedEx Field).

Canada: Edmonton (Commonwealth Stadium), Montréal (Olympic Stadium), Toronto (BMO Field).

Mexico: Guadalajara (Stadium Akron), Mexico City (Azteca Stadium), Monterrey (BBVA Bancomer Stadium).

It will be the first time three countries will jointly host the FIFA World Cup. For more information, see: 2026 World Cup Cities and 2026 World Cup Stadiums.

How will the 2026 World Cup work?

The 23rd men’s football FIFA World Cup tournament is to be held in the USA, Canada and Mexico. It is the first football World Cup with three host countries. In total sixteen cities will host a record number of 48 national soccer teams. The qualification stages in zones CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, CAF, AFC, UEFA, and OFC will run from 2023 to 2025. At the finals of the 2026 World Cup, in North America, a total of 80 matches are scheduled. The group stage starts with sixteen groups of three countries. Each country will compete in a round-robin format against the other two teams. As a first in World Cup soccer history, a winner must emerge from every group match. Therefore, in case of a tie, the match proceeds directly to a penalty-kick tiebreaker. The top two countries of each group will progress to the knock-out round of 32. The final tournament will proceed via the round of 16, quarterfinals, and the semifinals up to the 2026 World Cup Final. There is also the third-place playoff. Additional explanations, see page: 2026 World Cup Format.

What US cities will host the 2026 World Cup?

These cities in the United States (possibly) will host one or more matches at the World Cup Soccer in North America. The USA is the host country with the most host cities and stadiums at the 2026 FIFA finals. The final ten U.S. locations (in 2020/2021 to be selected from seventeen U.S. candidate cities), will be part of in total sixteen North American World Cup host cities.

2026 World Cup FAQ | There will also be three host cities in Canada as well as three in Mexico. These are the United Bid qualified Candidate Host Cities in the USA for the 23rd football World Cup: Atlanta, Baltimore, Boston, Cincinnati, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, Nashville, New York/New Jersey, Orlando, Philadelphia, San Francisco Bay Area, Seattle, and Washington, DC. See also: USA World Cup Cities for more information and characteristics.

World Cup 2026 News