FIFA™ | United States of America, Canada & Mexico

World Cup Winners 1936 – 2022

FIFA World Cup Title Holder Winner 2022
Pro Shots / SIPA USA

These are all the football world champions: winners of the FIFA World Cup from the very first edition in 1930 up to 2022. The summer of 2022 has added a new name to the list: Argentina, that has won the world title at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

  • 2022: ARGENTINA | 2-2 / 3-3 a.e.t. / 4-2 a.p. in final against France
    | host Qatar
  • 2018: FRANCE | 4-2 in final against Croatia
    | host Russia
  • 2014: Germany | 1-0 a.e.t. against Argentina
    | host Brazil
  • 2010: Spain | 1-0 a.e.t. against the Netherlands
    | host South Africa
  • 2006: Italy | 1-1 / 5-3 a.p. against France
    | host Germany
  • 2002: Brazil | 2-0 against Germany
    | host South Korea and Japan
  • 1998: France | 3-0 against Brazil
    | host France
  • 1994: Brazil | 0-0 / 3-2 a.p. against Italy
    | World Cup host United States of America
  • 1990: West Germany | 1-0 against Argentina
    | host Italy
  • 1986: Argentina (photo) | 3-2 against West Germany
    | World Cup host Mexico
  • 1982: Italy | 3-1 against West Germany
    | host Spain
  • 1978: Argentina | 3-1 a.e.t. against the Netherlands
    | host Argentina
  • 1974: West Germany | 2-1 against the Netherlands
    | host West Germany
  • 1970: Brazil | 4-1 against Italy
    | host Mexico
  • 1966: England | 4-2 a.e.t. against West Germany
    | host England
  • 1962: Brazil | 3-1 against Czechoslovakia
    | host Chili
  • 1958: Brazil | 5-2 against Sweden
    | host Sweden
  • 1954: West Germany | 3-2 against Hungary
    | host Switzerland
  • 1950: Uruguay | 2-1 against Brazil
    | host Brazil
  • 1938: Italy | 4-2 against Hungary
    | host France
  • 1934: Italy | 2-1 a.e.t. against Czechoslovakia
    | host Italy
  • 1930: Uruguay | 4-2 win against Argentina
    | host Uruguay
Pro Shots / Action Images
World Cup Football winners
Pro Shots

Main Info

world cup football 2026 News


World Cup Football Qualifiers North America, Central America, Caribbean

Qualification North America, Central America, Caribbean

In North America, Central America and the Caribbean, the FIFA qualifiers run from March 18, 2024 to November 18, 2025. Six, seven or eight of the 32 participating CONCACAF nations qualify, joining hosts USA, Canada and Mexico.

World Cup Football Qualifiers South America

FIFA World Cup football Qualification South America

In South America, the FIFA World Cup qualifiers run from September 7, 2023 to September 9, 2025. A total of 10 CONMEBOL nations participate. Six to seven South American countries will qualify. There is one single round.

World Cup Football Qualifiers Europe

FIFA World Cup football qualification Europe

In Europe, the qualifiers run from March 17, 2025 to March 31, 2026. A total of 55 (of 54) UEFA nations participate. Sixteen European countries will qualify. There is one group stage (Round 1), followed by the European play-offs.

World Cup Football Qualifiers Asia

FIFA World Cup football Qualification Asia

In Asia, the World Cup qualification runs from October 12, 2023 to November, 2025. A total of 46 AFC nations participate. Eight or nine Asian countries will qualify. There are three qualifying rounds, before the play-offs.

World Cup Football Qualifiers Africa

FIFA World Cup football Qualification Africa

In Africa, the World Cup football qualifiers run from November 13, 2023 to November 18, 2025. A total of 54 CAF nations participate. Nine or ten African countries will qualify. There are two qualification rounds.

World Cup Football Qualifiers Oceania

FIFA World Cup football Qualification Oceania

In Oceania, the FIFA qualifiers for the World Cup football run from September, 2024 to March, 2025. Eleven OFC nations participate. One or two Oceanic countries qualify. There are three qualification rounds.


Host Cities USA

The 2026 American Dream: the United States is one of the three hosts of the FIFA World Cup Soccer in North America. The USA is the host country with the most - eleven - host cities.

Host Cities Canada

With Vancouver, and Toronto, Canada has two host cities for the world's football finals in North America in 2026. Get more information about the characteristics of these exciting and diverse, dynamic cities.

Host Cities Mexico

With Guadalajara, Mexico City and Monterrey, Mexico has three candidate host cities for the World Cup in 2026. Each host with its specific ambience, history, attractions, hotspots and other features.

Stadiums USA

The United States will have eleven stadiums for the FIFA 2026 World Cup. Click for more information about these fantastic and modern venues in the USA, and which matches they will host.

Stadiums Canada

During the 2026 World Cup finals, these are the two venues in Canada: BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, and BMO Field in Toronto. Find out more about these attractive Canadian stadiums.

Stadiums Mexico

In Mexico, the FIFA 2026 World Cup will take place in these stadiums: Estadio Akron in Guadalajara, the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City and the BBVA Bancomer Stadium in Monterrey.